Exposing PseudoAstronomy

August 20, 2015

Podcast Episode 138: New Horizons Pluto Encounter Conspiracies, Part 1


New Horizons’ pass
Through the Pluto system: Lots
Of crazy ensued.

FINALLY! It’s out! Only 3 weeks overdue! The “August 1” episode is about the New Horizons mission to Pluto and some of the conspiracies and pseudoscience and bad media reporting related to it.

To be fair, all of these I have written about in my 11-part series. However, I know some people never read blogs and only listen to podcasts, and vice versa. So, I’m double-dipping. I don’t care.🙂

And it’s late at night, so I’ll close this brief post out by saying that I was recently interviewed on Steve Warner’s “Dark City” podcast, which you can directly listen to at this link. If you liked it, make sure you tell Steve by contacting him through his website.

2 Comments »

  1. In your Dark City interview I think you said the Earth’s atmosphere was 23 or 24 % oxygen .(Unless it was Steve Warner) I believe the correct figure is 20% by weight (79% nitrogen, 0.9$ argon).Also you suggest some ET’s communicating by telepathy .By what means? But I don’t see any reason why living organisms can’t develop radio transceivers.Or something like an octopus with language, communicating by flashing multi-colored ,entire paragraphs on its skin .

    Comment by unicorndaniel — August 25, 2015 @ 11:16 am | Reply

    • I didn’t have the numbers in front of me for oxygen, I was just remembering that it’s a little less than one-quarter.

      For telepathy, I was trying to come up with something that we have no real experience with on Earth, something that is literally completely foreign and we have no basis for comparison. That was really what I was trying to convey in that discussion, that all this talk about how to communicate or how life might evolve uses us as a reference point, and that might not be valid.

      Comment by Stuart Robbins — August 25, 2015 @ 1:01 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

