Exposing PseudoAstronomy

November 2, 2013

Podcast Episode 91: The Binary Star Hypothesis


‘Tis fact or fiction
To think our Sun part of a
Binary system?

I think my haikus are getting worse. Anywho, this episode is about the thoughts some people hold with respect to the sun being a member of a binary star system. It’s a listener-requested episode. And, it turned out to be a lot like my Planet X episodes towards the end, so much so that I classified it there in my Episode Tree List. However, I do start off by talking about the more science-based ideas behind a binary star, the “Nemesis” star, so-called because terrestrial mass extinctions were attributed to it. And then we digress.

Since I still have 5 proposals to review in the next … 9 hours? … this was a somewhat shorter episode in that it’s the same length as others but lacks most of the normal extra parts. You still get about a half hour of my lovely voice, a voice made for print.

The next episode will be about the Pioneer Anomaly, so if you have ideas for a puzzler topic on it, send them in!

2 Comments »

  1. I honestly don’t know how J. J. Sepkoski pronounced his name, but since he was born in the US, I’d imagine it’s been “Americanized” into: sep KOS ski. That is, “sep” is just like in September, “kos” like in cost, and “ski” like the sport. Since his family was originally from Poland, his family name is likely something I’ll never be able to figure out.

    Comment by Rick K. — November 2, 2013 @ 12:37 pm | Reply

  2. I’m old enough to remember when the original proposals came out, I always though it was an interesting idea. Sad to see it misused (Like so many other speculations…) by the peddlers of woo.

    I am looking forward to the Pioneer Anomaly episode and hope that the papers I sent you prove of use. I’m going to put myself on the record and say that the ESA should have gone ahead with a ‘test mission’ as even a negative result would have been valuable.

    Comment by Graham — November 4, 2013 @ 9:10 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,246 other followers

